The Ballad of Little Jo (Blu-ray)

Directed by : Maggie Greenwald
Available Date : 12/05/2023
Release Year : 1993
Running Time : 121
UPC : 738329265137
Country : U.S.
Language: English
Genre : Western, Drama, Romance
Choose a Format
$16.59 (Blu-ray)
MSRP: $24.95
Only ships to US & Canada.

In Stock
Add to Wishlist

Acclaimed writer-director Maggie Greenwald (Songcatcher) adds a modern twist to the classic western in The Ballad of Little Jo, starring Suzy Amis (Two Small Bodies, Blown Away, The Usual Suspects) in a trailblazing performance. After bearing an illegitimate child, society girl Josephine Monaghan (Amis) leaves home in disgrace. On the road west, she discovers that a woman alone is sexual prey for any man—so she disguises herself as a boy. As Little Jo, she confronts all the dangers the Wild West has to offer—from deadly winters to murderous outlaws. But her most treacherous enemy is her own heart—when she risks everything by falling in love with the one man who discovers her secret. Featuring dynamic supporting turns by Bo Hopkins, Ian McKellen, David Chung, Heather Graham, Anthony Heald, Melissa Leo, René Auberjonois and Carrie Snodgress, this gorgeously crafted film inspired by a true story proves that our heroes have sometimes been…cowgirls.

Product Extras :
  • Brand New HD Master From a 4K Scan of the 35mm Original Camera Negative, Supervised and Approved by Director Maggie Greenwald and Cinematographer Declan Quinn
  • NEW Audio Commentary by Director Maggie Greenwald and Cinematographer Declan Quinn
  • NEW Interview with Actress Suzy Amis
  • Optional English Subtitles
Publish Date : 2023-11-07
  • Maggie Greenwald - Director
  • Suzy Amis - Actor
  • Ian McKellen - Actor
  • Bo Hopkins - Actor
  • Heather Graham - Actor
  • Carrie Snodgress - Actor
  • Anthony Heald - Actor
  • Rene Auberjonois - Actor
  • David Chung - Actor
  • Melissa Leo - Actor
  • Sam Robards - Actor

For press and publicity inquiries, please email [email protected]. A selection of press materials for this title may be available for download here.